Celebrating Positive Practice in Mental Health


Art, Mental Health and Well-being, Older People's Mental Health, Mental Health and Criminal Justice, Mental Well-being of Staff (sponsored by NHS Employers), Innovative Practice (Primary Care) (Sponsored by Primhe), Partnership Working, Black and Minority Ethnic Award (sponsored by HS Consultancy), Patient Experience (sponsored by Picker), Child, Adolescent and Young People's Mental Health, Commissioning in Mental Health, Improving Care for People Experiencing Mental Health Crisis (sponsored by NHSIQ), Integrating Physical and Mental Healthcare  (Sponsored by King's Health Partners).

Making A Difference (individual), Mental Health Administrator (individual), Stamping our Stigma  (individual) (Sponsored by Time to Change).

The Awards nomination process has now been completed for this year, and judging is about to begin. 

So stay tuned for more news of who has been successful.

You can book your place at the awards on 


Come and help us celebrate all that is positive in mental health !

Thanks to our sponsors NHS Employers, Picker,  HS Consultancy, King's Health Partners, Time to Change, NHSIQ, and Primhe.  And to our supporters The NHS Confederation, Mental Health Today and Centre for Mental Health.



We at Breakthrough are proud of our record in identifying and disseminating Positive Practice nationally over the past fifteen plus years, and look forward to continuing to work with colleagues across the country to take our new exciting Positive Practice Collaborative forward  with colleagues at the following organisations to date:- including South West London and St Georges Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust, Avon and Wiltshire Partnership NHS Trust, Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS foundation Trust, Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust, Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, Oxford Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, Mersey Care NHS Trust,  Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust, Kent and Medway NHS and Social Care Partnership Trust, Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust, Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust, West Cheshire CCG, Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, South Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust, Central Southern CSU, Sunderland CCG, Hardwick CCG, Leicestrshire Partnership NHS Trust, Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, Chorley and South Ribble CCG, Mental Health Matter, Richmond Fellowship and Care UK.

The Collaborative is chaired by Mike Farrar CBE, with vice Chairs Professor Andre Tylee, Steve Trenchard, Professor Heather Tierney-Moore and David Bradley.

The following MPs are associate members of the Collaborative:- Nicky Morgan MP, Michael Dugher MP, Jason McCartney MP, John Woodcock MP,  Andy Burnham MP, Robert Buckland MP, Derek Twigg MP, Charles Walker MP, Luciana Berger MP, Ann Coffey MP, Philip Davies MP, Jonathan Reynolds MP.

The following organisations are also associate members:- the Centre for Mental Health,  the Picker Institute, Everton FC in the Community, and Hampshire Police.

If you are interested in becoming involved in the Collaborative please email us at breakthroughmh@hotmail.co.uk for more information. Your views matter !!  Let us share your work with others !

 You can also now follow us on Twitter  @positivepracti1




Relationships between people and the groups in which they live and work are central to a healthy life. Positive Practice recognises the centrality of these relationships to promote, restore and maintain health and wellbeing.

This includes positive partnerships in health and social care and beyond, across organisations and sectors.

As such, this Positive Practice website recognises and disseminates the high quality work of services at an individual, team, organisation or community level that has a positive impact on people’s health and wellbeing.